Urban Grind

Last week I went to climb the stairs at the Harbour Centre, known as the Urban Grind. This was an alternative to the Grouse Grind since it was closed momentarily until May for trail maintenance. The Harbour Centre is a 28 storey building (equivalent to 40 flights of stairs) and is 593 steps to the top. The cost is $5.00 but that gets you a free voucher to the Harbour Centre’s food court and also a free beer when you get to the top of the observation deck. From there, you are also rewarded with great views of the city of Vancouver.

I went with a few people from my work place. When we got there, we were surprised that there was a huge line-up. We had to wait in line for about 10 minutes. I decided to time myself to see how long it would take to climb the stairs from bottom to top. It took me 5 minutes and 45 seconds! To get down, you can either take the elevator or take the stairs. I decided to do it a second time so I walked down the stairs and did it again. The second time around it took me 5 minutes and 52 seconds. People were saying that to climb the equivalent of the Grouse Grind, you will have to do the Urban Grind five times.

IMG_3317

IMG_3321IMG_3322

Leave a Reply

