The Overnight Bus to Bogota

So this is the last overnight bus I will be taking on this trip. And boy, am I ever so glad this is the last! I’ve travelled on quite a few overnighters in my life and was even prepared for this. I packed my fleece jacket, rain jacket, toque, pants, socks, and also snacks for the videos. I felt like I was all set for the 9 hour bus ride to Bogota. However, this was not any other bus. First of all, the AC was just too overpowering that even my layers of clothing wouldn’t suffice. The volume of the movie was also loud and that didn’t help with the sleeping. Not to mention they showed the video until 12 midnight! Anyways, not sure how many hours I slept but not that many. The roads were really windy and the bus driver kept jerking the bus trying to pass semi-trucks on the curves! To make matters worse, I woke up in the middle of the night sweating hot! I think they turned off the AC in the middle of the ride. So I took of all the layers and just tried to let the sweat evaporate. Luckily I bought a 5 litre jug of water before the ride. Then when I started to become comfortable again, they turned the AC on! ARRGGHH!! Anyways, I arrived in Bogota earlier than I expected and I called Shalom, the friend I will be staying with for a few days. It was an adventure getting to her house though. I thought I had the right address but I guess I wrote it down wrong. So the taxi driver was basically driving in circles trying to find the place. I finally called Shalom and got the right address. She had an important meeting in the morning though and was all dressed up for it. Me….well….I haven’t showered in 3 days, my clothes stink, and haven’t had a good night sleep in a long time. Plus I have to shave my beard off in the next few days. Anyways, check out the contrast….(don’t mind the pink slippers)

kevinshalom.jpg

Leave a comment